DILG, COMELEC prepare 10 new barangays of Taguig City for October polls
DILG, COMELEC prepare 10 new barangays of Taguig City for October polls
DILG, COMELEC prepare 10 new barangays of Taguig City for October polls
by Kristan Carag17 August 2023
A voter has a finger inked after casting a ballot at a polling precinct during the national elections in Manila, Philippines, May 9, 2022. REUTERS/Willy Kurniawan

The Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) coordinates with the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) to prepare the 10 new barangays in Taguig City for the upcoming elections in October.

DILG Secretary Benjamin 'Benhur' Abalos said on Wednesday, August 16, that his department wrote to the Supreme Court to ask for its guidance regarding the implementation of the decision that transferred the jurisdiction of barangays from Makati City to Taguig City.

While awaiting instructions from the high tribunal, DILG has activated transition teams to deal with the territorial change.

"COMELEC Chairman George Garcia and I agree that it’s imperative to take action because there’s not much time left before the elections," Abalos said in a statement.


"We respect the Supreme Court’s definition of the cities’ territorial boundaries and are coordinating accordingly," he added.

Abalos said that DILG works with the head of the Philippine National Police, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, as well as with the Bureau of Fire Protection 'to revise the areas of responsibility and reporting lines of their affected local offices, in light of the decided boundaries'

The DILG chief stressed that the above actions would cover only matters of territorial suprevision.

"As for specific rights or obligations over affected property, these will be dealt with in accordance with the procedure provided by law. We will also respect any further court orders in this regard," Abalos clarified.


In ruling last June 26, the Supreme Court favored Taguig City in a territorial dispute with Makati City over 10 EMBO (Enlisted Men's Barrios) barangays, and the entirety of Fort Andres Bonifacio

Barangays affected by the decision include Pembo, Comembo, Cembo, South Cembo, West Rembo, East Rembo, Pitogo, Rizal, Northside and Southside.

Related Topics
listen Live
DZRH News Live Streaming
Most Read