16 areas in Luzon under state of calamity due to Egay
16 areas in Luzon under state of calamity due to Egay
16 areas in Luzon under state of calamity due to Egay
by Mary Antalan01 August 2023
Photo Courtesy: Peewee C Bacuño Facebook

Sixteen provinces, towns, and cities in Luzon have been placed under state of calamity due to the aftermath damages caused by the onslaught of Typhoon Egay, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) reported on Monday, July 31.

The provincial board, through a resolution on Monday, placed Cagayan province under state of Calamity.

The declaration comes after 26 towns and a city took the brunt of the typhoon’s wrath, leaving P465 million worth of agricultural losses and P862.3 million worth of damaged infrastructure.

The municipalities of Sanchez Mira, Aparri, Sta Ana, Abulug, Calayan, and Sta. Teresita were the most affected.


According to the Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (RDRRMO), Egay had an impact on 22,291 families, or 116,000 individuals,throughout the province.

On Sunday, the provincial board of Bulacan also adopted a resolution proclaiming a state of calamity after relentless rains during the typhoon's peak triggered extensive flooding that reached 1.82 meters or 6 feet and swamped low-lying regions in all 24 localities.

At least four persons perished while escaping the floods, either from drowning or from severe injury.

On Monday, Pampanga was also declared to be in state of calamity after experiencing severe flooding.


The Sto. Rain-related floods prompted Tomas, Macabebe, San Simon, and Minalin to proclaim states of calamity.

The Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (DRRMC) released data on Monday indicating that 438 localities in Central Luzon were affected by flooding, displacing at least 341,242 families, or 1,195,886 people, and causing P595,643,090 in agricultural damage.

Earlier, the local governments of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra, Mountain Province, Bataan, Cavite, Sablayan (Occidental Mindoro), Calasiao (Pangasinan) and Dagupan City also declared a state of calamity and accessed their quick response funds to aid affected residents.

Latest report released by NDRRMC, Typhoon Egay has affected about 2.3 million individuals or 654,837 families across 13 regions.


Of the 25 reported dead, only two were had been confirmed. Meanwhile, 52 were injured and 20 are still missing.

The number of evacuees was estimated at 312,000, with some staying in 737 shelters nationwide.

The amount of damage brought by Egay in Agriculture was estimated P1.9 billion and P3.5 billion in Infrastructure.

Related Topics
listen Live
DZRH News Live Streaming
Most Read