FULL LIST: Winners of 49th Metro Manila Film Festival
FULL LIST: Winners of 49th Metro Manila Film Festival
FULL LIST: Winners of 49th Metro Manila Film Festival
by Ada Pelonia28 December 2023

“Firefly” bagged the Best Picture award and two other honors at the 49th Metro Manila Film Festival’s (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal on Wednesday, Dec. 27.

The historical film “GomBurZa” trailed behind as 2nd Best Picture while securing six other awards, taking home the most honors for this year’s MMFF.

“Mallari” won the 3rd Best Picture and three other honors while “When I Met You In Tokyo” bagged the 4th Best Picture award.

Emerging actor Cedrick Juan won the Best Actor award for his portrayal of Padre José Burgos in “GomBurZa”. He dedicated his win to the Filipinos who failed to get the justice they deserved, likening it to the titular Catholic priests’ story that they portrayed in the film.


“Inaalay ko po itong parangal na ito para sa lahat ng Pilipinong hindi nakakakuha ng tamang hustisya dahil 152 years ago ganun po ang nangyayari sa atin at ‘yun po ang kwento ng tatlong paring martyr na sana ay matuto tayo sa ating history hindi dahil para baguhin ito kundi para matuto,” Juan said in his acceptance speech.

Vilma Santos emerged victorious as Best Actress for the film “When I Met You In Tokyo”. She cried through her speech, saying her win was unexpected as she only ever wanted Filipinos to get back to watching in cinemas.

Miles Ocampo secured the Best Supporting Actress award for the film “Family of Two”, and said that for decades since she started her career as a child, this was the first time she ever received an award.

JC Santos also won the Best Supporting Actor for the film “Mallari” in a roster of nominees.


Here is the complete list of winners for MMFF 2023:

  • Best Picture: "Firefly"
  • 2nd Best Picture: "Gomburza"
  • 3rd Best Picture: "Mallari"
  • 4th Best Picture: "When I Met You In Tokyo"

  • Best Actress: Vilma Santos for "When I Met You In Tokyo"
  • Best Actor: Cedrick Juan for "Gomburza"
  • Best Supporting Actress: Miles Ocampo for "Family Of Two"
  • Best Supporting Actor: JC Santos for "Mallari"
  • Best Director: Pepe Diokno for "Gomburza"
  • Best Screenplay: Angeli Atienza for "Firefly"
  • Best Child Performer: Euwann Mikaell of "Firefly"

  • Best Cinematography: Carlo Canlas Mendoza for "Gomburza"
  • Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino for "(K)ampon"
  • Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro for "Gomburza"
  • Best Original Theme Song: "Finggah Lickin" from "Becky and Badette"
  • Best Visual Effects: Gaspar Mangarin for "Mallari"
  • Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman for "Mallari"
  • Best Sound: Melvin Q. Rivera and Louie Boy Bauson for "Gomburza"
  • Best Float: "When I Met You In Tokyo"

  • Gender Sensitivity Award: "Becky and Badette"
  • FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: "When I Met You In Tokyo"
  • Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: "Gomburza"
  • Marichu Vera Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Mother Lily Yu Monteverde

listen Live
DZRH News Live Streaming
Most Read