Five nations elected to UN Security Council
Five nations elected to UN Security Council
Five nations elected to UN Security Council
by DZRH News07 June 2024
FILE PHOTO: Members of the United Nations Security Council vote on a resolution on non-proliferation during a meeting on the maintenance of International Peace and Security Nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation at U.N. headquarters in New York City, U.S., May 20, 2024. REUTERS/Eduardo Munoz/File Photo

UNITED NATIONS (Reuters) - The United Nations General Assembly on Thursday elected Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama, and Somalia to the 15-member U.N. Security Council for two-year terms starting on Jan. 1, 2025.

The Security Council is the only U.N. body that can make legally binding decisions such as imposing sanctions and authorizing use of force. It has five permanent veto-wielding members: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The remaining 10 members are elected, with five new members joining every year. Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama, and Somalia - who were all elected in uncontested slates - will replace Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Switzerland and Mozambique.

To ensure geographical representation, seats are allocated to regional groups. But even if candidates are running unopposed in their group, they still need to win the support of more than two-thirds of the General Assembly.


Denmark received 184 votes, Greece 182, Pakistan 182, Panama 183 and Somalia 179 votes.

(Reporting by Michelle Nichols, Editing by Nick Zieminski)

Related Topics
listen Live
DZRH News Live Streaming
Most Read