PAGASA releases tropical cyclone names for 2024
PAGASA releases tropical cyclone names for 2024
PAGASA releases tropical cyclone names for 2024
by Christhel Cuazon03 January 2024

The Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services (PAGASA) has released the local names of the tropical cyclones that will enter the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) in 2024.

The state weather bureau has four sets of names that are reused every four years. Each set contains 25 names that are arranged alphabetically.

Here’s the full list of names:

  • Aghon
  • Butchoy
  • Carina
  • Dindo
  • Enteng
  • Ferdie
  • Gener
  • Helen
  • Igme
  • Julian
  • Kristine
  • Leon
  • Marce
  • Nika
  • Ofel
  • Pepito
  • Querubin
  • Romina
  • Siony
  • Tonyo
  • Upang
  • Vicky
  • Warren
  • Yoyong
  • Zosimo


PAGASA also has 10 backup auxiliary names in case there are more than 25 tropical cyclones for the year: Alakdan, Baldo, Clara, Dencio, Estong, Felipe, Gomer, Heling, Ismael and Julio.

Decommissioned names

The state weather bureau decommissioned four tropical cyclone names from the 2020 cycle and replaced these with new names for 2024.

The names that will not be reused are Ambo, Quinta, Rolly and Ulysses.


When a tropical cyclone causes at least 300 deaths and/or P1 billion worth of damage to agriculture and infrastructure in the Philippines, its name gets decommissioned or removed.

Related Topics
listen Live
DZRH News Live Streaming
Most Read